Sticking to My Diet

 The Daily Selectionary

Friday, December 17, 2010

Today’s Readings:

Daily Office Readings: Isa. 10:5-19; 2 Pet. 2:17-22; Matt. 11:2-15 

 

 

Eucharistic Readings  

 

 

 Sticking to my Diet

 Christopher Hodges 

 

2 Peter 2:17-22

17 These are waterless springs and mists driven by a storm; for them the deepest darkness has been reserved. 18For they speak bombastic nonsense, and with licentious desires of the flesh they entice people who have just* escaped from those who live in error. 19They promise them freedom, but they themselves are slaves of corruption; for people are slaves to whatever masters them. 20For if, after they have escaped the defilements of the world through the knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, they are again entangled in them and overpowered, the last state has become worse for them than the first. 21For it would have been better for them never to have known the way of righteousness than, after knowing it, to turn back from the holy commandment that was passed on to them. 22It has happened to them according to the true proverb,

‘The dog turns back to its own vomit’,

and,

‘The sow is washed only to wallow in the mud.’

            The words contained in the books of the Bible can be overwhelmingly confusing at times.  There are words of poetry and prose all wound up to convey certain meanings and to bring some sort of point across to its readers.  There are those who most sadly dismiss the scriptures as archaic and some refuse to read any of the Bible all together.  This is a travesty.  I read the Bible as one great book of literature.  There are so many stories.  There is so much diversity.  There are odes proclaiming love and there are epics telling of violence; sometimes they can be found in the same passage.  This is the beauty of the Bible.  As literature, it is truly a marvelous work.  But for us Christians, the words within the Bible speak volumes to us.

            This passage in particular is one of those readings that take us to another place.  Our logic of the day cannot seem to wrap itself around these words.  After reading these verses from 2 Peter, I am placed in my own position of trying to figure out what this means to me specifically.  I feel that this is what it means to meditate on the scriptures.  “For it would have been better for them never to have known the way of righteousness than, after knowing it, to turn back from the holy commandment that was passed on to them.” 

            How many times have we erred from what we have known to be true and just to ourselves?  We have known the guidance of truth only to turn away from it and accept the ways of things that are contrary to who we are?  This reminds me of the many healthy diets I have tried to pursue.  I know that I should eat only things that are healthy for me.  And after living that diet of organic food, and after exercising, and after feeling so “healthy,” I go back and give into the fast food mentality.  It is easy.  It is readily available.  The only work that I have to do for it is to swipe my debit card.  I do not have to cook a thing.  I can be lazy at this.  After a few days of giving in, I feel worse than ever.  My body craves the nutrition I once gave it, but I refuse, and give it the sustenance that is convenient.

            The same is true with our spiritual lives.  We live a life full of Godly measure, only to give up because it is easier to not care about what is going into our spirit.  It is so easy to take the “fast food” mentality when it comes to our walk with God.  But once we have experienced the healthy lifestyle we get from a life engaged in God, it is frivolous to take steps backward.  Why would we?  Yet we do it all the time.

            I strive to embrace this Holy life.  I fail many times.  But I do know that this is the diet I am supposed to be on.  Let us all pray for one another to live a life of purity for the one who is at utmost, the purist. 

             

Daily Scripture readings are taken from The Revised Common Lectionary and can be read in full at www.satucket.com/lectionary.  NRSV translation of the Holy Scriptures.  Please feel free to pass along this email to whomever you feel may benefit from it. – Christopher Hodges  2010   email: ChristopherHodgeWriter@gmail.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

